Washington Spirit’s Aubrey Bledsoe Named 2021 NWSL Goalkeeper of the Year

Washington Spirit  |   November 18, 2021
Washington Spirit’s Aubrey Bledsoe Named 2021 NWSL Goalkeeper of the Year Featured Image

TACOMA, WA – NOVEMBER 14: Aubrey Bledsoe #1 of the Washington Spirit during a game between Washington Spirit and OL Reign at Cheney Stadium on November 14, 2021 in Tacoma, Washington.

CHICAGO (November 18, 2021) – The National Women’s Soccer League announced today that Washington Spirit goalkeeper Aubrey Bledsoe has been named the 2021 NWSL Goalkeeper of the Year.

The honor marks the Cincinnati, Ohio native’s second-straight Goalkeeper of the Year award, having been tabbed the league’s top goaltender following the 2019 regular season.

Starting in all 22 of the regular-season matches she appeared in, Bledsoe registered a 79.8 percent distribution rate and a 78.8 percent save clip, saving 78 shots throughout the year. Bledsoe, who anchored a defense that conceded less than a goal a game, also recorded seven shutouts.

She shined especially bright in October, recording 20 saves and notching three clean sheets to lead the Spirit to an undefeated 4-0-1 record during the month, landing her a spot on the October Team of the Month.

NJ/NY Gotham FC keeper Kailen Sheridan and Portland Thorns FC goalkeeper Bella Bixby finished second and third in voting this year, respectively.

The list of finalists was decided after a preliminary round of voting by owners, general managers, coaches, players and media. The finalists were then voted on by fans, owners, general managers, coaches, players and media.

Voting Breakdown
Preliminary Round:
 Players (50%), Owners/GMs/Coaches (25%) and Media (25%)
Final Round: Players (50%), Owners/GMs/Coaches (20%), Media (20%) and Fans (10%)

Full list of NWSL Goalkeepers of the Year
 Nicole Barnhart, FC Kansas City
2014: Alyssa Naeher, Boston Breakers
2015: Michelle Betos, Portland Thorns FC
2016: Ashlyn Harris, Orlando Pride
2017: Adrianna Franch, Portland Thorns FC
2018: Adrianna Franch, Portland Thorns FC
2019: Aubrey Bledsoe, Washington Spirit
2021: Aubrey Bledsoe, Washington Spirit

Spread the love