2021 Washington Spirit Named ‘Team of Distinction’ by DC Sports Hall of Fame

Washington Spirit  |   August 2, 2022
2021 Washington Spirit Named ‘Team of Distinction’ by DC Sports Hall of Fame Featured Image

Washington, D.C., (08/02/2022) – To honor the team’s 2021 NWSL Championship, the Spirit was inducted into the Washington, D.C. Sports Hall of Fame as a team of distinction on Sunday afternoon at Nationals Park.

In the Hall’s annual summer ceremony, four Spirit players were recognized alongside other major names in DC Sports. Forward Tara McKeown, defender/midfielder Julia Roddar, defender Karina Rodriguez and defender Emily Sonnett walked the red carpet onto the field to receive a plaque honoring their team’s extraordinary accomplishments.

The Spirit became just the fourth ‘team of distinction’ to be honored by the local Hall of Fame, following in the footsteps of the 2017-18 Washington Capitals, 2019 Washington Mystics and 2019 Washington Nationals. The latest in the recent stretch of success for the ‘district of champions’, the Spirit brought the nation’s capital its first major soccer championship since the 2004 D.C. United squad.

The Spirit will hit the road to take on Racing Louisville FC for the second and final time this regular season on Friday night.. The match will mark Washington’s first match at Lynn Family Stadium since winning the league title last November. Following the match, the Spirit will return home to host Portland Thorns FC at Segra Field on Wednesday, August 10.

About The Washington Spirit

The Washington Spirit is the professional women’s soccer team based at Segra Field in Leesburg, VA and Audi Field in Washington, D.C. Launched in 2012, the Spirit play in the National Women’s Soccer League, the premier women’s soccer competition in North America. For more information about the Spirit, visit www.WashingtonSpirit.com, follow the club on Twitter @WashSpirit and on Facebook at facebook.com/washingtonspirit.

About The Washington, D.C. Sports Hall of Fame

​The DC Sports Hall of Fame began in 1980 when Robert (Bob) Sigholtz created the Hall of Stars in RFK Stadium to honor DC’s top athletes and sports personalities. Since then, the Hall of Stars has honored over 100 figures ranging from players to coaches to executives to journalists. Each year, the Hall Selection Committee selects new figures to be added based on their past accomplishments and contributions to the DC sports scene. The organization’s website commemorates the past, present and future of the DC Sports Hall of Fame.

Spread the love