Washington Spirit announces updated roster ahead of 2018 NWSL regular season

Washington Spirit  |   March 19, 2018
Washington Spirit announces updated roster ahead of 2018 NWSL regular season Featured Image

Washington Spirit Pro Player Tori Huster Greeting Bench Experience Participants

Boyds, MD (March 19, 2018) – The Washington Spirit has announced its updated roster ahead of the 2018 National Women’s Soccer League regular season.

Washington brings 23 players into the 2018 regular season, three of which will not be counted against the active roster for all or part of the year.

Midfielder Rose Lavelle is exempt from counting against the active roster limit due to being acquired via the NWSL Dispersal Draft; forward Arielle Ship opens the season on the 45-Day Disabled List; and forward Cheyna Matthews will miss the season due to maternity.

In addition to the official roster below, Washington retains the NWSL rights to 2018 College Draft picks Schuyler DeBree, Brittany Basinger, Mallory EubanksMaddie Huster and Rachel Moore, along with Dispersal Draft pick Elizabeth Wenger.

The Spirit enters the season with four Federation Players: defender/midfielder Rebecca Quinn (CAN), defender Taylor Smith (USA), Lavelle (USA) and forward Mallory Pugh (USA).

Washington also returns three international players, including midfielder Yanara Aedo (Chile), midfielder Estefanía Banini (Argentina) and forward Francisca Ordega (Nigeria).

Washington will travel to the West Coast for a match-up with Seattle Reign FC on March 24, in the club’s NWSL regular season opener. Kickoff in Seattle is set for 10 p.m. ET.

Single game tickets for the Spirit’s regular season home games, including their March 31 home opener against the Orlando Pride, are available now at Tickets.WashingtonSpirit.com or by calling the club’s ticket office at 301-591-0927.

2018 Washington Spirit Roster

Rostered Players (23 of 20 spots filled):

Goalkeepers (3): Aubrey Bledsoe, DiDi Haracic, Kelsey Wys

Defenders (5): Whitney Church, Caprice Dydasco, Estelle Johnson, Rebecca Quinn (FED-CAN), Taylor Smith (FED-USA)

Midfielders (9): Yanara Aedo (INTL-CHI), Estefanía Banini (INTL-ARG), Meggie Dougherty Howard, Tori Huster, Rose Lavelle (FED-USA, DD), Joanna Lohman, Morgan Proffitt, Havana Solaun, Andi Sullivan

Forwards (6): Cali Farquharson, Ashley Hatch, Francisca Ordega (INTL-NGA), Mallory Pugh (FED-USA), Arielle Ship (D45), Cheyna Matthews (MAT)

Federation Players (FED): 4
International Roster Spots Filled (INTL): 3


FED (Federation Player): Any player assigned to a roster by virtue of being a Federation Player
INTL (International Player): Any player using an international roster spot

D45 (45-Day Disabled List): Any player on the 45-Day disabled list
SEI (Season Ending Injury List): Any player on the season ending injury list
NTR (National Team Replacement): Any player replacing a player who is with their National Team.
GKR (Goalkeeper Replacement): Any goalkeeper replacing a goalkeeper on the roster due to injury.
MAT (Maternity): Any player out for an extended period due to maternity
LOA (Loan): Any player who is loaned out to another club
PEN (Pending): Any player signed that will join club on a future date
DD (Dispersal Draft): Any player acquired via the Dispersal Draft

Spread the love