Spirit acquire forward Lindsay Taylor from Seattle

Washington Spirit  |   July 1, 2013
Spirit acquire forward Lindsay Taylor from Seattle Featured Image

Lindsay Taylor acquired by Washington Spirit from Seattle Reign FC

BOYDS, MD. (July 1, 2013) – The Washington Spirit announced the acquisition of forward Lindsay Taylor and a conditional fourth-round pick in the 2014 NWSL College Draft from the Seattle Reign FC in exchange for the Spirit’s 2014 College Draft second-round selection.

“We’ve had our eye on Taylor for a while,” Spirit general manager Chris Hummer said. “We have high high hopes for what she can bring to our attack throughout the reminder of this season and beyond.”

Taylor, 23, has made six appearances for the Reign in 2013, scoring a goal in a 4-2 loss to the Washington Spirit on May 16. A native of Palo Alto, Calif. and product of Stanford University, Taylor was the sixth overall pick in the 2012 WPS draft and spent the season with Arna-Bjørnar in Norway after the league folded. She also has experience with the U.S. under-23 national team.

Taylor helped the Cardinal capture its first national championship in 2011 and finished her college career with the most starts (98) and tied for the most games played (102) in program history. She is fourth on Stanford’s all-time scoring list (53 goals) and seventh all-time in assists (27).

The Spirit have waived midfielder Domenica Hodak to allow for the addition of Taylor to the 20-player roster.

Taylor is expected to be available to new Spirit head coach Mark Parsons for Wednesday’s home meeting with FC Kansas City at Maryland SoccerPlex’s Maureen Hendricks Field. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 pm. Tickets available at tickets.washingtonspirit.com.



The Washington Spirit are a women’s professional soccer team based at the Maryland SoccerPlex in Germantown, Md. Launched in 2012, the Spirit play in the National Women’s Soccer League, the premier women’s soccer competition in North America. For more information about the Spirit, visit www.washingtonspirit.com, follow the club on Twitter @WashSpirit and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/washingtonspirit.


The NWSL is an eight-team league organized and administered by the U.S. Soccer Federation that will begin play in the spring of 2013. The eight founding clubs are the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Sky Blue FC (New York/New Jersey), Seattle Reign FC, the Washington Spirit and the Western New York Flash.

Spread the love