Spirit part ways with Jorden; Parsons named head coach

Washington Spirit  |   July 1, 2013
Spirit part ways with Jorden; Parsons named head coach Featured Image

New Spirit head coach Mark Parsons (Left) with former head coach Mike Jorden.

BOYDS, MD. (July 1, 2013) – The Washington Spirit announced that Mike Jorden has been relieved of his duties as head coach. The Spirit’s current W-League head coach Mark Parsons has been appointed as head coach for the NWSL team.

“I feel everyone at the club has, and will continue to have, great respect for Mike as a professional and as a person,” Spirit general manager Chris Hummer said. “But the poor results of the past six weeks have pushed the team into last place, and that’s just not something we can accept. We have the best fans in NWSL, and they deserve a winning team.”

Jorden was named the first coach of the Washington Spirit after leading the D.C. United Women W-League team to the Eastern Conference championship and W-League final in 2012.

Parsons led the D.C. United Women Under-20s to the 2012 National Championship finals and previously spent six years in multiple coaching roles at Chelsea FC in England, including time as the head coach of Chelsea Ladies Reserve.

Parsons will take over the Spirit’s NWSL team immediately and begin to build a staff. His first game in charge will be Wednesday, July 3, when the Spirit host FC Kansas City.



The Washington Spirit are a women’s professional soccer team based at the Maryland SoccerPlex in Germantown, Md. Launched in 2012, the Spirit play in the National Women’s Soccer League, the premier women’s soccer competition in North America. For more information about the Spirit, visit www.washingtonspirit.com, follow the club on Twitter @WashSpirit and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/washingtonspirit.


The NWSL is an eight-team league organized and administered by the U.S. Soccer Federation that will begin play in the spring of 2013. The eight founding clubs are the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Sky Blue FC (New York/New Jersey), Seattle Reign FC, the Washington Spirit and the Western New York Flash.

Spread the love