Washington Spirit announces 35-player preseason roster

Washington Spirit  |   March 2, 2019
Washington Spirit announces 35-player preseason roster Featured Image

Baltimore, MD – January 15, 2015: The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) held their 2016 draft at the Baltimore Convention Center.

Boyds, Md. (March 2, 2019)The Washington Spirit has announced an initial 35-player roster ahead of the opening week of National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) preseason training camp.

Included on the 35-player roster are 14 non-roster invitees and five players that were selected in the 2019 NWSL College Draft.

Seven members of the roster have recent national team experience, including: USA players Mallory Pugh, Rose Lavelle, Andi Sullivan and Tegan McGrady; Australian internationals Amy Harrison and Chloe Logarzo; and Jamaica’s Cheyna Matthews.

All five of the 2019 NWSL College Draft picks on the roster were selected in the first two rounds, ranging from the No. 3 overall pick to No. 17. First round picks Jordan DiBiasi (Stanford), Sam Staab (Clemson), Tegan McGrady (Stanford) and Dorian Bailey (UNC), and second round pick Bayley Feist (Wake Forest) will be taking the field Monday for the first time as professional players.

Lavelle, Pugh and Sullivan will re-join the club after the conclusion of the 2019 SheBelieves Cup. Harrison and Logarzo will arrive to Spirit camp after the Cup of Nations concludes in Australia. Matthews is missing the start of preseason camp as she represents Jamaica in a pair of friendlies against Chile.

Washington’s 2019 preseason game schedule kicks off March 16 at City Stadium in Richmond, Va. against James Madison University. [TICKETS]

Tickets for all four Spirit preseason games and the regular season home opener against Sky Blue FC on April 13 are available now at Tickets.WashingtonSpirit.com.

2019 Washington Spirit Preseason Roster

Goalkeepers (5): Aubrey Bledsoe, Shae Yanez (NRI), Samantha Leshnak (NRI), Rachel Boaz (NRI), Sammy Jo Prudhomme (NRI)

Defenders (11): Megan Crosson, Jessica Davis (NRI), Mallory Eubanks, Amy Harrison (NYR), Tegan McGrady (CDP), Sam Staab (CDP), Paige Nielsen, Dorian Bailey (CDP), Mackenzie Berryhill (NRI), Carlin Hudson (NRI), Jackie Simpson (NRI), Megan Cox (NRI)

Midfielders (8): Meggie Dougherty Howard, Rose Lavelle (NYR), Joanna Lohman, Andi Sullivan (NYR), Chloe Logarzo (NYR), Tori Huster, Jordan DiBiasi (CDP, NYR), Amanda Rooney (NRI)

Forwards (10): Cali Farquharson, Ashley Hatch, Arielle Ship, Mallory Pugh (NYR), Cheyna Matthews (NYR), Bayley Feist (CDP), MyKayla Brown (NRI), Georgia Cloepfil (NRI), Tiffany McCarty (NRI), Lana Spitler (NRI)

CDP – 2019 NWSL College Draft pick
NRI – Non-Roster Invitee
NYR – Not Yet Reported to Camp

Spread the love