Spirit retain Harris, Krieger, Gayle, Matheson and add USWNT player Averbuch

Washington Spirit  |   January 3, 2014
Spirit retain Harris, Krieger, Gayle, Matheson and add USWNT player Averbuch Featured Image

The Washington Spirit announce the official list of allocated players for the 2014 NWSL season. The Spirit will retain USWNT players Ali Krieger and Ashlyn Harris along with Canadian WNT players Diana Matheson and Robyn Gayle. The Spirit welcome newcomers midfielder and USWNT player Yael Averbuch and Mexican WNT player Renae Cuellar.

Yael Averbuch is a native of Upper Montclair, NJ and played college soccer at the University of North Carolina. Averbuch was last with the Swedish club, Kopparbergs/Göteborg FC, playing 16 matches, starting in 15. She scored a total of seven goals, one of those in the Champions League.

“I couldn’t be happier to become a member of the Washington Spirit. 2014 is going to be an exciting season in the NWSL and I have a lot of faith that Spirit coach, Mark Parsons, is assembling a wonderful group, both on and off the field,” Yael Averbuch said. “I feel very fortunate to be a part of this group and for the opportunity to represent the Spirit!”

Of the new addition to the team, coach Mark Parsons said, “We are all very excited to welcome Yael to the Spirit. She brings plenty of experience, quality and passion to the club and will play an important role in our future success.”

Americans, Ashlyn Harris and Ali Krieger along with Canadians, Diana Matheson and Robyn Gale will return as allocated players for their second season with the Spirit. In October 2013, the Washington Spirit acquired Mexican national team member, Renae Cuellar, in a trade with Seattle Reign FC.

From Jan. 3-6, the NWSL will have a league-wide “trade period” during which all NWSL teams may make trades throughout the four days. However, teams will not be allowed to waive players currently on their roster until after the NWSL Expansion Draft.

Following are the club-by-club allocations:

Boston Breakers

Meghan Klingenberg (USA)*
Kristie Mewis (USA)
Heather O’Reilly (USA)
Chelsea Stewart (CAN)*
Kaylyn Kyle (CAN)
Dinora Garza (MEX)

Chicago Red Stars

Shannon Boxx (USA)
Amy LePeilbet (USA)
Christen Press (USA)*
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Erin McLeod (CAN)
Rachel Quon (CAN)*

Houston Dash

Whitney Engen (USA)*
Melissa Tancredi (CAN)*
Teresa Noyola (MEX)

FC Kansas City

Nicole Barnhart (USA)
Lauren Holiday (USA)
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CAN)
Lauren Sesselmann (CAN)
Cecilia Santiago (MEX)

Portland Thorns FC

Rachel Buehler (USA)
Tobin Heath (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)
Jackie Acevedo (MEX)*

Seattle Reign FC

Stephanie Cox (USA)*
Sydney Leroux (USA)
Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Hope Solo (USA)
Carmelina Moscato (CAN)
Arianna Romero (MEX)*

Sky Blue FC

Jill Loyden (USA)
Kelley O’Hara (USA)
Christie Rampone (USA)
Jonelle Filigno (CAN)*
Sophie Schmidt (CAN)
Monica Ocampo (MEX)

Washington Spirit

Yael Averbuch (USA)*
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Ali Krieger (USA)
Robyn Gayle (CAN)
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Renae Cuellar (MEX)

Western New York Flash

Carli Lloyd (USA)
Abby Wambach (USA)
Selenia Iacchelli (CAN)*
Veronica Perez (MEX)

Spread the love