Home » App »

Morgan Proffitt receives highest athletic honor from alma mater Marquette University

Boyds, MD (January 8, 2018) – Washington Spirit midfielder/defender Morgan Proffitt has been awarded Marquette University’s prestigious Robert L. and William P. McCahill Award, the highest honor bestowed upon an MU student-athlete.

Each year, Marquette bestows the honor to one student-athlete who has achieved in athletics, scholarship, and service to the university. Proffitt, a three-time All-BIG EAST selection during her college soccer career and an avid community service activist off the field, became the eighth women’s soccer player to receive the McCahill Award during its 71-year history.


MILWAUKEE – Former Marquette University women’s soccer player Morgan Proffitt is the recipient of the 71st Robert L. and William P. McCahill Award, the highest honor bestowed upon an MU student-athlete.

She will be honored at the Marquette men’s basketball game against DePaul at the BMO Harris Bradley Center on Monday, Jan. 15 at 8 p.m. Central time.

“Morgan epitomizes what Marquette student-athletes strive to be every day, displaying excellence in all aspects of life,” Marquette University vice president and director of athletics Bill Scholl said. “Each of our over 300 student-athletes sacrifice a great deal in pursuit of athletic and academic excellence, while working to make a difference in our community. During her time at MU, her pursuit to be among the very best on the soccer pitch was as apparent as her humility and the respect she showed her teammates, coaches, administrators and professors. I can think of no better representative of Marquette and the McCahill Award.”

Proffitt is the eighth former member of Markus Roeders’ women’s soccer program to earn the distinction, all of which have come since 2000.

The Columbus, Indiana native was the third Marquette player to earn BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year in 2016, following in the footsteps of Ally Miller (2012) and repeat winner Kerry McBride (2010 and 2011), and was a three-time All-BIG EAST selection (two first team honors).

Proffitt was also a candidate for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award and collegiate soccer’s most prestigious honor, the MAC Hermann Trophy.

She played over 7,500 minutes during her MU career while starting 83 of 85 possible matches at defender and midfielder, posting 10 goals and three assists. Proffitt also helped the Golden Eagles to a pair of BIG EAST regular season championships (2013 and 2016), a league tournament title (2013) and two NCAA tournament appearances (2013 and 2016).

She trained with the United States U-23 Women’s National Team prior to and during her final year with the Golden Eagles, making the 20-player gold-medal winning squad that competed at the 2016 Nordic Tournament in England and trained with the U.S. in early 2017.

Following her MU career, Proffitt was selected 12th overall in the 2017 NWSL draft by the Chicago Red Stars and ended her rookie year on the Washington Spirit. She appeared in 10 professional matches in her first season, making four starts and playing 366 minutes.

In the classroom, she was a four-time BIG EAST All-Academic Team honoree and graduated as a marketing and operations & supply chain management double major with a 3.164 grade-point average.

Proffitt was actively involved with numerous community service initiatives while at Marquette, including Hunger Clean Up, Relay for Life and TOP Soccer, and since graduation has mentored and provided support to aspiring college soccer players in her hometown.

About the Robert L. and William P. McCahill Award:

The McCahill Award was named after Captain Robert L. McCahill, a former Marquette student-athlete who gave his life for his country at the Battle of Iwo Jima during World War II in 1945. Established by his brother, Colonel William P. McCahill, also an MU student-athlete, the award was first presented in 1946 and has been awarded annually as the highest honor bestowed upon a Marquette student-athlete.

After Colonel McCahill’s death in 1999, Marquette University officially renamed the award to recognize the lifetime accomplishments of both Captain Robert and Colonel William McCahill.

The award is given annually to a student-athlete who has achieved in athletics, scholarship, and service to the university.

Past recipients of the award include Olympic silver medalist John Bennett (1954), two-time NBA All-Star Don Kojis (1961), Naismith Award-winner Butch Lee (1978), and NCAA 10,000-meter run champion Keith Hanson (1986).