NWSL announces 2015 allocated players

Washington Spirit  |   January 14, 2015
NWSL announces 2015 allocated players Featured Image

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) has announced the official list of allocated players for the 2015 NWSL regular season. A total of 42 allocated National Team players will be participating in the upcoming season with 25 Americans, 13 Canadians and four Mexicans.

In addition to the returning allocated National Team players, there are five newly allocated National Team players that are now spread among the nine clubs including one American (Julie Johnston), three Canadians (Allysha Chapman, Nkem Ezurike and Rhian Wilkinson) and one Mexican (Bianca Sierra).

Once again, the Canadian Soccer Association, Federation of Mexican Football and U.S. Soccer will be subsidizing the salaries of their respective players. While the three federations are planning on hosting extended training camps and events prior to the start of the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015, they have agreed to release their players to participate from the start of the 2015 season.

The National Team players will begin the season with their respective National Teams, but will participate in the first three to four NWSL matches before the start of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015. The NWSL will also take a brief 12-day break during the group stages of the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015.

Next, the NWSL will be holding the 2015 College Draft on Friday, Jan. 16, 2015 at 9:30 a.m. ET at the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Convention in Philadelphia. For more details, go to NWSLsoccer.com.

Following are the club-by-club allocations:

Boston Breakers
Kristie Mewis (USA)
Alysa Naeher (USA)
Nkem Ezurike (CAN)*
Bianca Sierra (MEX)*

Chicago Red Stars
Shannon Boxx (USA)
Julie Johnston (USA)*
Christen Press (USA)
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Melissa Tancredi (CAN)
Rachel Quon (CAN)

Houston Dash
Meghan Klingenberg (USA)
Carli Lloyd (USA)
Allysha Chapman (CAN)*
Erin McLeod (CAN)
Lauren Sesselmann (CAN)

FC Kansas City
Nicole Barnhart (USA)
Lauren Holiday (USA)
Heather O’Reilly (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Amy Schilling (USA)

Portland Thorns FC
Tobin Heath (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Rachel Van Hollebeke (USA)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)
Kaylyn Kyle (CAN)
Rhian Wilkinson (CAN)*

Seattle Reign FC
Sydney Leroux (USA)
Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Hope Solo (USA)

Sky Blue FC
Kelley O’Hara (USA)
Christie Rampone (USA)
Jonelle Filigno (CAN)
Monica Ocampo (MEX)

Washington Spirit
Crystal Dunn (USA)
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Ali Krieger (USA)
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Veronica Perez (MEX)
Arianna Romero (MEX)

Western New York Flash
Whitney Engen (USA)
Abby Wambach (USA)

* = Newly Allocated Player in 2015

Spread the love