Spirit midfielder Diana Matheson named to NWSL Best XI first team

Washington Spirit  |   August 29, 2013
Spirit midfielder Diana Matheson named to NWSL Best XI first team Featured Image

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced Wednesday the Best XI selections for the 2013 NWSL season. Washington Spirit midfielder Diana Matheson earned a place on the NWSL Best XI, and defender Ali Krieger was named to the NWSL Second XI.

Western New York Flash forward Abby Wambach and defender Brittany Taylor were among the 11 players selected ahead of the 2013 NWSL Championship game on Saturday, Aug. 31 at Sahlen’s Stadium in Rochester, N.Y. between the Flash and Portland Thorns FC. The game kicks off at 8 p.m. ET and will be broadcast nationally live on FOX Sports 2.

At 23, Boston Breakers forward Sydney Leroux is the youngest member of the squad, which is comprised of seven allocated players from the United States and Canada women’s national teams and four non-allocated players. FC Kansas City had the most selections of any team with four.

The NWSL Best XI:

Position Player Club Country.
Goalkeeper Nicole Barnhart FC Kansas City USA
Defender Christie Rampone Sky Blue FC USA
Defender Leigh Ann Robinson FC Kansas City USA
Defender Becky Sauerbrunn FC Kansas City USA
Defender Brittany Taylor Western New York Flash USA
Midfielder Lori Chalupny Chicago Red Stars USA
Midfielder Jess Fishlock Seattle Reign FC Wales
Midfielder Lauren Holiday FC Kansas City USA
Midfielder Diana Matheson Washington Spirit Canada
Forward Sydney Leroux Boston Breakers USA
Forward Abby Wambach Western New York Flash USA


NWSL Second XI

Goalkeeper: Adrianna Franch, Western New York Flash

Defenders: Rachel Buehler, Portland Thorns FC; Caitlin Foord, Sky Blue FC; Ali Krieger, Washington Spirit; Lauren Sesselmann, FC Kansas City

Midfielders: Megan Rapinoe, Seattle Reign FC; Desiree Scott, FC Kansas City; Erika Tymrak, FC Kansas City

Forwards: Alex Morgan, Portland Thorns FC; Lianne Sanderson, Boston Breakers; Christine Sinclair, Portland Thorns FC

The NWSL awards are voted on by a selection of journalists that cover the league on a consistent basis, club officials and NWSL players.

Voters for the Best XI provided selections for four (4) defenders and a combination of six (6) midfielders or forwards; with the ability to select a minimum of one (1) and a maximum of three (3) forwards. The Goalkeeper of the Year was automatically named to the Best XI.

The Second XI is comprised of the next leading vote getters at each position that did not make the Best XI.

Spread the love