Home » App »

Lori Lindsey nominated for National Soccer Hall of Fame class of 2018

Boyds, MD (March 12, 2018) – Former Washington Spirit and Washington Freedom player, and current Spirit Academy Athletic Development Coach Lori Lindsey has been tabbed as a nominee for the National Soccer Hall of Fame class of 2018 in the Player category.

Lindsey led a lengthy and highly successful professional and international career, spanning from 2002-2015. During her time as a player in Washington, she made 43 National Women’s Soccer League appearances with the Spirit from 2013-2014, and 47 appearances with the Freedom from 2006-2009. The former University of Virginia standout earned 31 full international caps for the United States between 2005 and 2013, including three World Cup qualifiers in 2010 and one game at the 2011 Women’s World Cup.

Lindsey played in leading United States leagues for more than a decade, including two seasons in the WUSA for San Diego and Washington, three seasons in WPS for Washington and Philadelphia, and two seasons in the NWSL for Washington. She was chosen as a WPS postseason all-star in 2010. In addition to her years in those leagues, she played seven seasons in the W-League, one season in the Women’s Premier Soccer League and two seasons in the Australian first division. During her seven American first-division seasons, she played 133 regular-season games and four playoff games. Lindsay

Lindsey has met the Hall of Fame eligibility criteria via both her U.S. National Team caps and her WUSA/WPS/NWSL seasons. She is the second member of the current Washington Spirit staff to receive a Hall of Fame nomination in the past two years. Spirit NWSL assistant coach Briana Scurry – a two-time Olympic Gold medalist and FIFA World Cup champion goalkeeper with the USA – was not only nominated, but inducted into the Hall of Fame for the class of 2017.

[+Read More: Spirit coach, USWNT legend Briana Scurry inducted into National Soccer Hall of Fame]

2018 National Soccer Hall of Fame Player Ballot
  • Juan Pablo Angel*
  • David Beckham
  • Gregg Berhalter
  • Carlos Bocanegra*
  • Steve Cherundolo
  • Brian Ching
  • Bobby Convey*
  • Jeff Cunningham
  • Jay DeMerit*
  • Brad Friedel*
  • Kevin Hartman
  • Frankie Hejduk
  • Thierry Henry*
  • Stuart Holden*
  • Eddie Johnson*
  • Chris Klein
  • Eddie Lewis
  • Lori Lindsey*
  • Kate Sobrero Markgraf
  • Pablo Mastroeni
  • Clint Mathis
  • Tiffeny Milbrett
  • Heather Mitts
  • Jaime Moreno
  • Ben Olsen
  • Pat Onstad
  • Steve Ralston
  • Ante Razov**
  • Tony Sanneh
  • Taylor Twellman
  • Aly Wagner
  • Josh Wolff
*First year of eligibility
**Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2019